Southeast Michigan Council of Governments

The Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) supports local planning through its technical, data, and intergovernmental resources. The work SEMCOG does improves the quality of the region’s water, makes the transportation system safer and more efficient, revitalizes communities, and spurs economic development.

The function of SEMCOG is to:

  • Promote informed decision-making by improving Southeast Michigan and its local governments through insightful data analysis and direct assistance to members;
  • Promote the efficient use of tax dollars for infrastructure investment and governmental effectiveness;
  • Develop regional solutions that go beyond the boundaries of individual local governments;  and
  • Advocate on behalf of Southeast Michigan in Lansing and Washington.

Since its inception in 1968, SEMCOG has acted as a regional planning partner with local member governments. Membership is open to all counties, cities, villages, townships, intermediate school districts, and community colleges. SEMCOG serves the Southeast Michigan region, made up of Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw, and Wayne Counties. Associate, non-voting, memberships are offered to eligible public universities. 

Careers at SEMCOG